Leadership Hustings

click below to view when available on YouTube

Wed 1st March 7pm Cumbernauld

Fri 3rd March 6.30pm Glenrothes

Sat 4th March 1pm Inverness

Mon 6th March 7pm Dumfries

Tues 7th March 9pm on STV Scotland’s Next First Minister: The STV Debate

Wed 8th March 7pm Johnstone

Thur 9th March 7pm on Channel 4 News SNP Leadership Debate

Fri 10th March 6.30pm Edinburgh

Sat 11th March 1pm Glasgow

Sat 11th March 5pm SNP Trade Union Group Glasgow

Sun 12th March 1pm Aberdeen

Mon 13th March 7pm on Sky News SNP Leadership Debate

Tues 14th March 8pm on BBC Scotland Debate Night Special

Wed 15th Mar 7pm The Scottish Poverty and Inequality Leadership Hustings

Friday 17th March 7.30pm Inverness Courier SNP Leadership Debate

Monday 20th March LBC SNP Leadership Debate

Tuesday 21st March Times Radio SNP Debate


The deadline for contenders to put themselves forward for the next SNP leadership passed at midday on the 24th February, so it is now confirmed there are three potential future leaders. Humza YousafKate Forbes and Ash Regan will seek the votes of SNP members across Scotland.

The party rules stipulate that candidates need 100 nominations from SNP members covering at least 20 geographical branches in order to stand. All three leadership hopefuls have secured the necessary backing. All existing SNP members will be able to vote in the upcoming contest.

The three names will now go forward to the party membership, who will rank the candidates in order of preference using the Alternative Vote. The ballot will open at noon on March 13th, and close at noon on March 27th. Then, the successor to Nicola Sturgeon will be announced as SNP leader.

After the conclusion of the election, the First Minister, Nicola Sturgeon, will submit her formal resignation to the King. The Scottish Parliament will be asked to recommend who should then be appointed as the new First Minister. While any MSP can technically stand, the SNP-Green coalition means the new SNP leader will become Scotland’s sixth First Minister since 1999. A new cabinet will then be chosen.